Abu Dhabi to host Tenth Arab Energy Conference next week

ABU DHABI: Under the high patronage of President His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Tenth Arab Energy Conference will be convened in Abu Dhabi, UAE, from 21st to 23rd December, 2014.

The theme of the conference will be “Energy and Arab Cooperation.” The Conference will be chaired by Suhail Mohamed Faraj Al Mazrouei, the UAE Minister of Energy.

Discussions will cover current developments in the oil and natural gas markets and their implications for Arab countries; investment requirements to develop the energy sector in Arab countries; energy, environment, and sustainable development.

Discussions will also include energy resources; energy consumption and conservation in Arab countries; Arab electricity interconnection; and technological developments and their implications for energy sector.

The objectives of the Arab Energy Conference are to establish an Arab institutional framework to review oil and energy issues in order to develop a Pan-Arab perspective, to coordinate relations among Arab institutions concerned with energy and development, to harmonise energy policies with development issues, to investigate present and future Arab energy requirements and the means of meeting them, to identify and assess energy resources existing in the Arab countries, and to coordinate and enhance efforts towards developing these resources and to identify and evaluate the impact of international energy policies on the Arab countries.

Fifteen research papers will be presented in four Technical Sessions on the following topics: First Technical Session: Arab and Global Energy Resources: Reality and Expectations; Second Technical Session: Consumption and Conservation of Energy in the Arab Countries; Third Technical Session: Arab Electricity Interconnection; and Fourth Technical Session: Technological Developments and their Implications for Energy Sector.

The Conference participants include official delegates from the Arab countries, speakers invited by the follow-up Committee, and other selected institutions and individuals involved in energy issues.