Hamdan bin Zayed chairs ERC board meeting

ABU DHABI, 1st November, 2015 (WAM) — H.H. Sheikh Hamdan bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Ruler’s Representative in the Western Region and Chairman of the Emirates Red Crescent Authority (ERC), presided over the Authority’s 4th board of directors meeting in Abu Dhabi today.
Sheikh Hamdan said at the beginning of the meeting that the humanitarian initiatives of President His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan had enhanced the ERC’s operations locally, regionally and internationally. He also applauded the unlimited support extended to the ERC’s programmes by Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum and His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.
Sheikh Hamdan conveyed to the board members the leadership’s appreciation of the role played by the ERC in providing assistance to the displaced people in the areas hit by disasters and conflicts, like Yemen and the countries hosting millions of Syrian refugees.
The board approved the ERC’s budget for 2015, as well as the closing accounts of 2014. It also reviewed a report on the ERC’s humanitarian efforts and its relief operations in Yemen and Kurdistan of Iraq.
According to the report, the cost of humanitarian and development programmes in the Yemeni province of Aden and neighbouring provinces reached AED 664.3 million, with projects in infrastructure taking the largest share of AED 508.7 million, while education, healthcare and social services projects accounted for AED 81.3 million, 74 million and 275 million, respectively.
The report also highlighted the recent opening of the Debaga Camp in Erbil, which was built by the Emirates Red Crescent. It consists of 1,000 housing units, two schools, a mosque, a clinic, an administration centre, a bakery and a park.
The meeting was attended by Dr. Hamdan Musalam Al Mazrouei, ERC Board Chairman, Dr. Mohammed Atoq Al Falahi, ERC Secretary General and other board members.