42 Awami League chairman candidates elected uncontested in fifth phase of UP polls

They got a walkover in the absence of other contestants, said the Election Commission’s public relations wing chief SM Asaduzzaman on Monday.

May 12 was the last day for the withdrawal of nominations for posts of chairman, and general and reserved seat members.

Voting in the fifth leg will be held in 729 union councils on May28.

Asaduzzaman said 3,254 candidates were running for chairmen in this phase. Of them, 1,727 aspirants are from 15 political parties, while 1,527 are independent runners.

The Awami League (AL) has fielded chairman candidates in 726 UPs, the BNP in 629, and the Jatiya Party in 177.

There have been 194 uncontested wins – all of them Awami League candidate – in five phases, including 42 in the fifth phase.

Fifty-four had become chairmen in the first phase, 34 in second, 29 in third and 35 in the fourth leg.

The sixth and last phase of the election in 727 UPs is scheduled on Jun 4.

AL 1,836, BNP 243

The election to the chairman post of the local government’s grassroots tier is being held for the first time along political party lines.

The Awami League has got as many as 1,836 chairman posts, while the BNP has managed only 243 in the four phases.

At least 78 people have been killed in poll-related clashes and violence.

According to the EC, voter turnout has been 74 percent, 78 percent, 76 percent and 77 percent, respectively, for the first four phases.

Source: Bangladesh’s First Internet Newspaper